Ben E. Keith Foods to Receive President's Award

DALLAS (June 4, 2012)—Lisa Perini of Perini Ranch Steakhouse and current president of the Texas Restaurant Association (TRA) will award the association's President’s Award to Ben E. Keith Foods in recognition of the company’s outstanding contributions to the association. The award will be presented at the TRA President's Gala June 23 at the Omni Dallas Hotel.

Ben E. Keith Foods has been a partner of the TRA for 75 years. The company joined TRA in 1938, just one year after the association was founded.

“Ben E. Keith has contributed to the growth and success of the TRA...since our beginning,” said Perini. “Our two organizations have grown together, as the industry has grown, and we continue to work together to help our members and customers succeed.”

The President’s Award, which is presented at the discretion of the current TRA president, is designed to honor a company or individual which has had an extraordinary, positive effect on the industry and local communities.  It has only been given twice in the Association’s history. In 1994 it was presented by TRA President David Cortez to Bill Miller BBQ to honor their efforts to enhance the image of the industry through outstanding civic and community involvement.  In 1997 it was presented by TRA President Larry Forehand to three restaurateurs, Bob Borochoff, Kenneth James and Chris Pappas for their extraordinary leadership on Houston legislative issues.

“On behalf of the more than 2000 BEK Foods employees I would like to thank the TRA for recognizing us with this prestigious award,” said Mike Roach, president, Ben E. Keith Foods. “It is indeed an honor to be in the company of such outstanding Texas restaurateurs as Rosemary Kowalski, Balous Miller, Bob Borochoff, Kenneth James and Chris Pappas. “  

This year, in addition to Ben E. Keith Foods, the President’s Award will be presented to Rosemary Kowlaski of the RK Group in San Antonio in recognition of her lifetime achievement in the restaurant industry.


More from our partners