NRAEF, Sysco, Two Operators Award 10 Scholarships

CHICAGO - The National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF), in collaboration with Sysco Foodservices of Minnesota, Outback Steakhouse, Inc., and Buffets, Inc., awarded 10 outstanding college students with $4,000 scholarships for continuing their education in 2005, according to the NRAEF here.

"The NRAEF is pleased to recognize these students who have excelled in the classroom and on-the-job while exhibiting a true passion for the restaurant and foodservice industry," said Mary M. Adolf, president and chief operating officer of the NRAEF. "It is through the ongoing generosity of these organizations that we have been able to educate our future workforce and reinforce our industry's position as the cornerstone of career-and-employment opportunities."

To earn this prestigious award, students must currently be enrolled in college, have completed at least one semester in a restaurant or foodservice-related program, and be performing at a GPA level of 2.75 and above. In addition, these students must have logged a minimum of 750 hours of work experience in the restaurant or foodservice industry. These scholarships are offered to current employees of Outback Steakhouse, Inc., Buffets, Inc., and Sysco Foodservices of Minnesota, whose scholarships are also eligible to Minnesota residents not employed by Sysco Foodservices of Minnesota.

The following students were awarded $4,000 scholarships:

Sysco Foodservices of Minnesota
Alesha Goelz, Shoreview, MN, Hennepin Technical College
Ellen Moore, St. Paul, MN, Le Cordon Bleu at Brown College

Outback Steakhouse, Inc.
Alexander Gerrits, Murrells Inlet, SC, Horry Georgetown Tech College
Tara Hawes, Hendersonville, NC, Central Piedmont Community College
Stefanie Rouh, Winter Springs, FL, University of Central Florida
Lisa Poltrock, Boca Raton, FL, Florida Culinary Institute
Liz Arcuri, Orlando, FL, Rosen College of Hospitality at the University of Central Florida

Buffets, Inc.
Jeanne McKay, Lakeville, MN, Normandale Community College
Iryna Zivalijic, Chicago Ridge, IL, Moraine Valley Community College
Teanna Holloway, Mesa, AZ, Chandler Gilbert Community College

The NRAEF said that it has set aside a substantial amount of money in scholarships for students who have demonstrated a commitment to continuing their restaurant and foodservice education and are pursuing a career in the industry. The Scholarships and Mentoring Program is funded through annual events, corporate and individual contributions and earnings from NRAEF products and services, the foundation said, pledging to award up to $1.38 million in scholarships for 2005.


More from our partners