NSF Announces 2009 Food Safety Leadership Award Winners

The Food Safety Leadership Awards (FSLA) Program recognizes influential individuals that have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the food industry. This year’s winners, whose nominations were reviewed by an independent panel of experts in the food industry, are:
•    Dr. Phillip Minerich, Hormel Foods Corporation -- Lifetime Achievement Award in Packaging & Distribution
•    Carl Winter, Department of Food Science and Technology, University of California -- Education & Training. Winter has developed a unique “Improving Food Safety Education through the Use of Music-Based Curricula” program.
•    The Coca-Cola Company -- Systems Improvement, Water. The company supports effective engagement of the world’s largest beverage distribution system in water risk management schemes, from catchments to the tap or the bottle.
•    Greenville County Schools Food and Nutrition Services and Greenville County Schools -- Systems Improvement, Community. NSF recognizes implementation of a Health Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) program in 86 schools and 12 satellite locations in the face of budget constraints, limited time and the challenge of training 650 employees across various locations.
•    Joseph Reardon, North Carolina Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services -- Systems Improvement. Reardon directed the Castleberry Recall, the first public health recall in over 30 years where Clostridium botulinum has been identified as a causative agent between canned product and foodborne illness.
•    Steve Robinson, Dole Fresh Vegetables -- Systems Improvement. Robinson is responsible for creating a groundbreaking food safety application that tracks currently freshly-harvested spinach from the point of harvest in the fields, through transport to processing and weigh scales, through weighing, through the flash cooling tubes, and into the cold storage warehouse.

The award recipients will be honored at the kick-off reception of the 2009 Food Safety Summit in Washington, D.C., April 27. For more information on the event, visit www.foodsafetysummit.com.


More from our partners