Farquharson Honored for Lifetime Achievement in Food Safety

CHICAGO - John Farquharson, president of The National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation's (NRAEF) International Food Safety Council, has been awarded the NSF International (NSF) Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions in the area of service in food safety education.

NSF awarded four individuals with its first-ever Food Safety Leadership Awards, a program recognizing groundbreaking achievements in food safety that help protect the public from food-borne illness. The awards will be presented on May 22, 2004, during the National Restaurant Association Restaurant, Hotel-Motel Show in Chicago.

In 1993, Farquharson founded the International Food Safety Council for the NRAEF with a mission to increase the awareness of food safety education. He has been instrumental in engaging the industry to support this initiative through his resources, time and energy. Prior to founding the International Food Safety Council, John enjoyed a 38-year career with Aramark. He was president of Aramark's foodservice sector for 15 years, then chairman of their global food services and retired as Executive Emeritus.

"I am extremely honored to be receiving this award," said Farquharson. "I am a firm believer of ensuring food safety is always top-of-mind with our industry professionals. A long time ago I decided I didn't want to just sit around, so I decided to make some noise on the crucial issue of food safety education and training. People in the industry need to take this seriously - and hopefully in the process, save a foodservice operation, a person's job or even a life. I'm just doing my part in making sure the industry is educated on this important issue."

NSF developed the awards program to recognize the extraordinary efforts of individuals and organizations that have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in foodservice safety. This new awards program is part of NSF's ongoing public health and safety commitment to encourage safer living.

"We are very proud of John Farquharson and his many accomplishments in food safety," said Mary M. Adolf, president and chief operating officer of the NRAEF. "There is no one in this industry that deserves a Lifetime of Achievement award in food safety more than John and we are extremely pleased to have John leading our NRAEF International Food Safety Council."

"I would like to congratulate the winners on their many years of commitment to foodservice safety," said Kevan Lawlor, president and CEO, NSF International. "These awards exemplify the commitment of each of these extraordinary individuals and organizations. Their achievements will have a positive, lasting impact on consumers and on the foodservice industry as these awards foster individual creativity and innovation that culminate in the development of many groundbreaking advances."

The three other winners include: John Silliker, Ph.D., founder, Silliker, Inc., who will be honored for his outstanding research in the area of foodservice safety with a Lifetime Achievement Award for Research; Jack in the Box Inc., represented by David Theno, Ph.D., senior vice president, quality and logistics, will be recognized for accomplishments in systems improvement; and AgION Technologies Inc., represented by J. Ladd Greeno, president and CEO, will receive the Food Safety Leadership Award in the category of technology breakthrough.


More from our partners