Dine-in restrictions expand to N.Y., N.J. and Conn.

The indefinite closures add to a growing list of states that have banned on-premise operations in the wake of the fast-spreading coronavirus.
closed sign
Photograph: Shutterstock

The governors of New York, New Jersey and Connecticut announced Monday morning that all bars and restaurants in their states would close to dine-in business as of 8 p.m. Takeout and delivery service will still be allowed. In New York, restaurants and bars will be able to sell alcohol to-go for the duration of the closures. 

The tri-state order follows an announcement late Sunday that all of New York City’s bars and restaurants would be ordered closed indefinitely.

“These temporary closures will last as long as is necessary to protect the public health,” New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo said in a statement. “Our primary goal is to slow the spread of coronavirus so that the wave doesn’t crash our healthcare system. Social distancing is the best way to do that.”

The tri-state order also bans all gatherings of more than 50 people.

The three states join a growing number in the U.S. banning in-restaurant dining in an effort to slow the spread of the coronavirus.

Late on Sunday, Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti said that he ordered bars and nightclubs and dine-in restaurants closed as of Monday. Washington state took similar steps.

Pennsylvania, meanwhile, moved similarly in four counties there, and on Monday, Michigan Gov. Gretchen Whitmer said she would issue an order temporarily shutting down eat-in service.

Members help make our journalism possible. Become a Restaurant Business member today and unlock exclusive benefits, including unlimited access to all of our content. Sign up here.


Exclusive Content


Crumbl may be the next frozen yogurt, or the next Krispy Kreme

The Bottom Line: With word that the chain’s unit volumes took a nosedive last year, its future, and that of its operators, depends on what the brand does next.


4 things we learned in a wild week for restaurant tech

Tech Check: If you blinked, you may have missed three funding rounds, two acquisitions, a “never-before-seen” new product and a bold executive poaching. Let’s get caught up.


High restaurant menu prices mean high customer expectations

The Bottom Line: Diners are paying high prices to eat out at all kinds of restaurants these days. And they’re picking winners and losers.


More from our partners