legislation

Passaic, Paterson eye paid sick leave law

Passaic and Paterson were the latest additions to a fast-growing list. Two major cities, Newark and Jersey City, already mandate the benefit, and state proposals have also been floated.

L.A. lawmakers lay out path to $15.25 minimum wage by 2019

Not content with Mayor Eric Garcetti’s proposal of a $13.25 minimum, members of the City Council have called for raising the rate to $15.25 an hour by 2019.

A bill supported by congressional Democrats would raise the minimum to $10 an hour on July 1. Incoming Gov. Bruce Rauner is less enthusiastic than the defeated Pat Quinn about hiking the pay rate.

The targets include Columbus, Ohio, and Nevada.

The law, which takes effect in 90 days, requires employers of at least 10 people to provide one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 that are worked.

The state House approved a bill that would set a wage of $4 an hour for tipped employees, with the rest of the minimum wage presumed to come from gratuities.

The rules and regulations to keep an eye out for in your area.

Facing a shallow labor pool and stepped-up enforcement by the Feds, the restaurant industry is putting pressure on lawmakers to ramp up immigration reform. And change may be closer than you think.

A bill already approved by the state senate would limit franchisors’ grounds for terminating franchisees.

A ballot initiative would overturn a requirement that beer or wine can only be sold to patrons who buy food.

  • Page 22